Press release/Presentation of Imagineindia 2019


–  The festival will give the Lifetime Achievement Award to the indian director Buddhadeb Dasgupta.

–  It will take place in Madrid from 17 to 31 May 2019.

The 18th edition of Imagineindia International Film Festival will take place in Madrid from 17 to 31 May.  81 films, 5 venues, 18 international juries and 15 international guests in this festival, which has already become a classic among film festivals.  This year Imagineindia pays homage to the Indian director Buddhadeb Dasgupta with Lifetime Achievement Award.

14 films from 9 countries will compete in the Official Section to win the “Golden Chakra”, accompanied by parallel sections for documentaries, short films, film schools, migrations, women or religions.

The Círculo de Bellas Artes, Artistic Metropol, Casa Asia, Función Languaje and Travel Brand Xperience will be the venues of the festival that will last for fifteen days.

The Jury of the festival will decide on a total of 14 awards and is made up of great names in Spanish cinema such as Andres de la Torre, Juan Echanove, Javier Aguirresarobe and international jury such as Hanna Polak, Olga Khlasheva, Anjali Monteiro, Russudan Glurjidze or Ruchika Oberoi.

The present edition of the festival will give the Lifetime Achievement Award to the Indian director Buddhadeb Dasgupta and will present a tribute to the Russian director Marina Razbezhkina with the screening of her filmography.

The festival will also dedicate a special look to Films from Kerala with the presence of the director Jayaraj, actor Renji Panicker or producer Muttath Sureshkumar.

In memory of two recently deceased universal directors, Mrinal Sen (India) and Marlen Khutsiev (Russia), the festival will screen the films Khandhar and Spring on Zarechnaya Street.

Film institutes like the FTII and SRFTI will show the latest graduation works of their students. Universities, documentary promotion platforms or the national television of India, TISS, PSBT, DOORDARSHAN, which will also participate with their productions.

Workshops, conferences and round tables will complete the 15 days of this film festival Imagineindia.

This 18th edition of the Imagineindia festival will be attended, among other special guests, by Jayaraj (Official Selection) India, Renji Panicker (Nominated for Best Actor) India, Muttath Sureshkumar (Producer) USA, Onur Saylak (Official Section) Turkey, Manoj Michigan (Shorts) India, Shazia Iqbal (Shorts) India,  Marc Nadal, Assumpta Serna, Aida Oset (With the film “Where you can not arrive “) Spain, Indraadip Das Gupta (Official Section) India, Samiran Das (Producer) India, Pablo Fuentes (Section Life) Spain, Oleshya Shigina (Documentary Section) Russia, Marina Razbezhkina (Tribute) Russia, Shankar Mohan (Jury) India, Hanna Polak (President of the Jury ) Poland. All of them will attend the different screenings to present their films to the public.